PDA

View Full Version : Daytona?

Oli
13th April 2009, 21:54
Just after some advice guys nice and early as iv still got 7 months (counting) till i can get my full and since forever i have been dreaming of that moment so am already hyping myself up about it and want to be ahead of the curve and get my "big" bike ready and waiting so i dont have to wait at all :).
(i kno its lame but shhhhhh)
I have always been in love with the daytona 675. And I had the privledge of riding a Daytona 675 at a trackday training course at ruapuna and absolutely loved it!!!!!!!!
Can someone be straight up and tell if there is anything really lacking in it?
Also as i know this is important, I ride pretty much 24/7 and dont want to own a car so its definaly a possibility of doing some comuting on it. I know that potenially this mite not be the best for the bike so have considered get a smaller/cheaper bike for the commute.

Anyway any advice would be really good as i have been holding back for 6 months already for this post so i wouldnt look so noob saying that its a year away lol.:innocent:

Cheers, Oliver

YellowDog
13th April 2009, 22:04
The bike is AbFab. Great looking. Loads of power but not ideal for commuting if you do a lot of stop start. Maybe a bit too nice for commuting however it depends upon your particular commute.

Gubb
13th April 2009, 22:08
Aye. Seat is a little thin for communtering. But if your willing to make small sacrifices like that, it's a sensational bit of kit. I found the Streety a better all round bike though.

trumpy
13th April 2009, 22:17
Street Triple R.........:Punk:

Mikkel
13th April 2009, 22:52
Sexiest bike on the market for mid-sized sportsbikes IMHO.

However, for your commuting I'd get something without fairings, better at slow speed manouvers and more focus on low-end grunt. Let's say... a motard, they're fun! (And incidentally the greatest invention to ever reach Banks Peninsula) :yes:

discotex
13th April 2009, 23:00