View RSS Feed

iYRe

A sort of Comparison: 1Tonne Modular helmet vs SHOEI Raid II

Rate this Entry
I call this a "sort of" comparison, because the 2 helmets are quite dissimilar. However, I had my hands on both and thought it an interesting comparison between a $160 helmet and a $500 ish helmet.

The 1Tonne modular helmet is my own, and I have been using it for about 2 years. The Shoei Raid is a friend who was unable to use it, so I thought I would test it out and see if I needed to upgrade. So.. my impressions were these:

1Tonne:
- service is good.
- helmet is fairly decently made
- visor clips for changing visor are a bit fiddly
- visor doesnt go up out of my field of vision.
- visor stays up till about 100kmh then closes (no issues for me actually, I like this "feature")
- vents are not great
- rarely fogs up.
- seems quite noisey
- I like the strap clip
- modular nature means it is good for glasses (even without flipping it up, there is plenty room for glasses)
- replacement visor = $30
- all insides are removable and washable.
- has an awesome internal sunvisor

Shoei:
- seems fairly large
- vents work well
- fogs up easily
- dont like the d-ring
- the visor clicks are stiff and require some force to move but will stay in place at speed.
- the "brow" of the opening seems to be at the top of my vision and is annoying.
- found it annoying getting my glasses in and out.
- replacement visor = $50-70
- insides are removable, washable, and replaceable.
- I found it slightly quieter, in a sort of muffled way, which I didnt actually like much.
- visor change mechanism is easy to use
- no internal sunvisor.