Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tougher conditions tipped for teen licences

Bike
    2006 Hyosung GT650R

Tougher conditions tipped for teen licences

It could soon be harder for teenagers to get a driver's licence.

A consultation document for a 10 year plan to improve road safety is to be issued later this month.

Transport Minister Stephen Joyce says raising the minimum driving age, making the restricted licence test tougher and increasing the length of time for learner licences will all be up for discussion.

He says he is not deliberately looking to raise the driving age, but young drivers are over-represented in crash statistics.

According to the Ministry of Transport, 37% of fatal crashes between 2005 - 2007 involved a driver aged from 15 to 24 years.

**from http://www.radionz.co.nz/news/storie...9/1245c18a4f9f
    "I am a licenced motorcycle instructor, I agree with dangerousbastard, no point in repeating what he said."
    "read what Steve says. He's right."
    "What Steve said pretty much summed it up."
    "I did axactly as you said and it worked...!!"
    "Wow, Great advise there DB."
    WTB: Hyosung bikes or going or not.

Bike
    Ubrfarter V Klunkn,ffwabbit,Petal,phoebe
    This is the Road Safety Strategy 2020 plan.

Young drivers are identified as a principle focus of the strategy - as the report (infra) notes.

So, also, are motorcyclists. You have been warned.

The Starategy will be open to public submission. You have the right to speak up in support of motorcycling. use it, or lose it.
    Quote Originally Posted by skidmark
    This world has lost it's drive, everybody just wants to fit in the be the norm as it were.
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Vincent