Thread: When is the best time?

Bike
    Kawazaki KLR650 2009

Question When is the best time?

Hi

I am very new to biking and like the idea of a mentor cos it just makes sense.

But what I am not sure is at what point having a mentor is going to be most worthwhile.

I figure just being out on my bike and trying to get used to her right now is the right thing to do. Having someone looking over me is more likely to make me tense.

So I guess the question I am asking of experienced bikers and mentors is; at what point do you think having a mentor is of the most value to the new biker?

Is there a stage of proficiency the biker should have first or would it be a good idea from day one? I figure it would be useful to hear different opinions on this.

Cheers

Bike
    Triumph Tripple 675 DR 650
    Hi Edz1

The right time for a mentor might differ between riders but if you are already thinking that one will be beneficial to you then I think that this indicates that the time is right for you.

A mentor more than likely will not be riding over your shoulder. The idea of a mentor is just that, to mentor. He/she should not be doing anything that makes you overly nervous.

If you are wise you would want to be understanding the basics such as target fixation, emergency breaking and slow manuvours before you need to use them.
    The sooner and more often you practice skills the quicker your proficiency will develop. From that follows more enjoyment riding your bike

Have a check on the forum for Wellington nights similar to the AWNR.

Also search the forum for threads on riding tecniques.

Bike
    GSXR 750 the wanton hussy
    A mentor is not a 'teacher'. Rather, a mentor is available to give advice if you want it, either question/answer sort of thing, or at most 'Can you follow me and tell me what I'm doing right/wrong?'
    And there's no right or wrong time for a mentor to be called on...