Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Howdy from Texas (Tex)

Bike
    2004 FLHRCI

Howdy from Texas (Tex)

Well, my first post..... .

My computer has indigestion, so no telling how long I can access this site tonight.

I ride a HD 2004 FLHRCI with an engine I built a couple of years ago (114 cubic inch motor) with all the good stuff like Nikasil cylinders, SnS cases, heads and valve train as well as my latest addition which is a 2" exhaust system by RB Racing in California which is a 2 into 1. The bike is a road bike and not a racing bike. I am quite proficient on the Daytona Twin Tech TCFI II and IId fuel injection system with a Kuryakyn 57mm throttle body since I have been working on that system for about 3 years or so. I am an enthusiast and not a mechanic ..... but I tinker which often turns into a larger project than expected. The bike is on the rack at present getting a bit of TLC.

I ride about 15k miles a year (kilometers ya got me, still using that old English/American stuff). I don't tour much but I get out and about as often as possible. A nice weekend ride is about 240 miles or so.

Today was a beautiful day, lots of sunshine and fairly warm at mid-day about 75 degrees Farenheit. It was a perfect day for the annual Texas State HD rally in Galveston, Texas. Lots and lots of bikes on the roads today. Maybe 100 thousand or more showed up today and thousands of bikes in town for the rally. Galveston is about 30 miles from my home.

I live about 2 miles for the Johnson Space Center near Houston, Texas. So, traffic is a concern until you get out to the boonies where you can ride. A couple of years ago, I toured all of New Mexico, USA. Northern New Mexico is quite beautiful, mountains everywhere, elevations to 10k feet and lots of trees as far as you can see. At the end of the trip, I rode from Taos, New Mexico to Pecos, Texas which is about 840 miles taking the scenic route. I did that in one day from sun up to sun down and I have no desire to do that again!