Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pre-72: What happened?

Bike
    Twin

Pre-72: What happened?

Pre 72 , What Happened! Didn`t pre72 use to have it`s own races. Why so few competitors ?

Bike
    Honda CB350
    Youré not the only one wondering what happened. I have been racing pre 72 Junior for 5 years now. When I first started 6 to 10 bikes on the grid was not uncommon but I have been to meetings lately where I have been the only pre 72 bike racing. Its a long time since I've raced in a solely pre 72 class. We are usually in with the pre 82's but often with pre 89's as well now.
    The only acknowledgment we seem to get as a class is at the NZPCRA GP .
    I was a bit suprised at my first AGM Prizegiving that the pre 72's were not even mentioned. This was discussed with the president at the time and he said it was an oversight on his part but nothing has changed. It has also been mentioned at every AGM since.
    There seems to be a reluctance on behalf of the club to keep track of places/points for pre 72 as a class on its own so we are lumped in with the pre 82's for N0 1 Plate points. I don't see any revelance in knowing where I came in another class.
    This has also been queried but the answer is there are not enough bikes to justify running a separate class.
    This may be so but the question is why isn't there.
    I race for the sheer enjoyment of it and the camaradarie of other postie racers but I can see that constantly having to race with faster pre 82 or pre 89 bikes could be a bit disheartening for some.
    In an ideal situation having the classes that they ran in pre 72 ie 125, 250, 350, 500 and Open may encourage a few more smaller capacity bikes out rather than a straight 500 class. The NZCMRR and Posties in Australia don't seem to have trouble filling grids in the smaller classes.
    Maybe there just aren't enough bikes in NZ.
    Racing a pre 72 bike can be fairly high maintenance so maybe pre 89's the answer!.