Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to buckets (A few questions)

Bike
    Hyosung GT250R 2007

New to buckets (A few questions)

Hi my name is Tim im from errr Tawa. I am currently studying engineering at the university of canterbury and am interested in buckets. I have no idea where to begin or where such events are held around Christchurch if anyone could let me know when one is coming up id love to come watch. Im on my restricted licence and ride a GT250R. I'm thinking of selling this and buying an FXR to race. Ive read the rules on two strokes vs 4 strokes and see the FXR150 as a good option. Can anyone offer their opinion on this??? Is there a cheaper bike that is a better starting point.

Any help would be great...
    Tim

Bike
    CBR, RGV Racer, Bucket
    Hi Tim from Tawa,

Bucket racing has really taken off in Chch lately and there's heaps of us doing it. We usually race at Ruapuna or Levels in Timaru. The next race meet isn't for a few weeks though (22nd & 23rd of May at Ruapuna)

The FXR is definitely a good choice as there's even a MOTOFXR series on down here. Take a look at www.fxr150.co.nz to get an idea.

Also the local bucket racing club (the BMRC) can be found here: www.bmrc.co.nz

Bike
    DRZ MOTARD, BUCKET RACER
    Their are cheaper bikes, all depends on how mechanicly minded and how much time you have to piss round with development etc etc Its wellington Round 1 this weekend head out to the kart track and have a gander and talk shit with the boys and girls there would be a good start

Bike
    Hyosung GT250R 2007