Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Complete Newbie

Bike
    07 Buell XB9R

Complete Newbie

So im thinking about getting my bike license. However the only time i have been on a bike was on a dirt bike out on muriwai beach for all of about 1 min of riding.

What do people suggest for the complete newbie? Does that pre-learner license course cover everything right from scratch or are you expected to know how to ride a bike before you go?

There was some interesting reading in Zapf's which 1st bike thread...
    Paul

Bike
    Forza 155 SE Pit Bike
    Welcome Silverbug.

DRZ400SM.
    Vote David Bain for MNZ president

Bike
    RSVR-BICILINDRICO
    Welcome Silverbug got afew of them on my K3 at the moment

SENSEI PERFORMANCE TUNING

" QUICKER THAN YOU SLOWER THAN ME "

Bike
    BMW K1200R
    If you're refering to the basic handling skills certificate, I don't know of anyone that has failed it. I'd suggest getting some tuition in combination with the basic handling skills certificate.
    I did only the certificate at Passrite to save money, but I belive it's a false economy.

Did you enjoy riding at Murawai? If so I'd think a dual sport / trail bike would be a good option for learning on. They are designed to be crash and dropped, and are road registerable.
    We're all fucked. I'm fucked. You're fucked. The whole department is fucked. It's the biggest cock-up ever. We're all completely fucked.
    -Sir Richard Mottram

Bike
    SUZUKI TR50 STREET MAGIC
    Quote Originally Posted by Silverbug
    So im thinking about getting my bike license. However the only time i have been on a bike was on a dirt bike out on muriwai beach for all of about 1 min of riding.

What do people suggest for the complete newbie? Does that pre-learner license course cover everything right from scratch or are you expected to know how to ride a bike before you go?