Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: CNC lathe milling & programming?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    12th March 2005 - 23:42
    Bike
    2017 Husqvarana FS701
    Location
    South East of Nowhere.
    Posts
    2,326

    CNC lathe milling & programming?

    Is there anyone here who has experience in CNC Engineering? Specifically, I want to get an idea of how the process works from design through to end product. For example, say I had a part, perhaps a mounting bracket, of a machine that has broken and I want to remake a new bracket? How do I go about this? (This is theoretical).

    Cheers in advance.

    (Edit) I know that I could just approach an engineering shop to do this, but I am extremely interested in the process itself. Hence the above is theoretical. Have seen a few youtube videos, the bit that is most obscure to me is the progamming side of things.
    Nail your colours to the mast that all may look upon them and know who you are.
    It takes a big man to cry...and an even bigger man to laugh at that man.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    27th February 2005 - 08:47
    Bike
    a red heap
    Location
    towel wronger
    Posts
    6,522
    Quote Originally Posted by Brett View Post
    Is there anyone here who has experience in CNC Engineering? Specifically, I want to get an idea of how the process works from design through to end product. For example, say I had a part, perhaps a mounting bracket, of a machine that has broken and I want to remake a new bracket? How do I go about this? (This is theoretical).

    Cheers in advance.
    the part needs to be drawn up in some sort of cad programme, then exported to a conversion programme (depending on what software you are running) where tooling, parameters etc can be picked, which then automatically writes a programme which the machine can read.

    or you can go all old school on it and write the programme line by line, just like the matrix.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    12th March 2005 - 23:42
    Bike
    2017 Husqvarana FS701
    Location
    South East of Nowhere.
    Posts
    2,326
    Quote Originally Posted by nodrog View Post
    the part needs to be drawn up in some sort of cad programme, then exported to a conversion programme (depending on what software you are running) where tooling, parameters etc can be picked, which then automatically writes a programme which the machine can read.

    or you can go all old school on it and write the programme line by line, just like the matrix.
    See this is one of the things I was wondering. I have seen the mathematical code required to make the automated parts move on their respective axis' etc. and it looks reasonably difficult (might not be...haven't ever had a try) but I did wonder if there were any programmes to automatically take a CAD and compute it into the required code to make the machine do its thing. however, i would have thought that this would depend on the different machines and the tools that they operate? Or do they all work with essentially the same basic movements meaning that the code is largely the same?

    Excuse the ignorance, I am a complete noob at CNC programming and its fundamentals.
    Nail your colours to the mast that all may look upon them and know who you are.
    It takes a big man to cry...and an even bigger man to laugh at that man.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    27th February 2005 - 08:47
    Bike
    a red heap
    Location
    towel wronger
    Posts
    6,522
    Quote Originally Posted by Brett View Post
    See this is one of the things I was wondering. I have seen the mathematical code required to make the automated parts move on their respective axis' etc. and it looks reasonably difficult (might not be...haven't ever had a try) but I did wonder if there were any programmes to automatically take a CAD and compute it into the required code to make the machine do its thing. however, i would have thought that this would depend on the different machines and the tools that they operate? Or do they all work with essentially the same basic movements meaning that the code is largely the same?

    Excuse the ignorance, I am a complete noob at CNC programming and its fundamentals.
    G code programming is pretty simple for point to point machining, but when you start to do complex shapes which have hundreds of lines to write it sucks arse.

    Now i can just take a drawing of somthing, scan it, convert it, and send it to the machine in less than 5 mins.

    leaves heaps of time for KB.

    most machines come with their own software for programming and converting files, and even though they all do the same thing, they are all different. It would be too easy having them all the same (i run 2 machines, and i have to have 2 computers because the 2 lots of software wont run on the same computer.)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    12th March 2005 - 23:42
    Bike
    2017 Husqvarana FS701
    Location
    South East of Nowhere.
    Posts
    2,326
    Quote Originally Posted by nodrog View Post
    G code programming is pretty simple for point to point machining, but when you start to do complex shapes which have hundreds of lines to write it sucks arse.

    Now i can just take a drawing of somthing, scan it, convert it, and send it to the machine in less than 5 mins.

    leaves heaps of time for KB.

    most machines come with their own software for programming and converting files, and even though they all do the same thing, they are all different. It would be too easy having them all the same (i run 2 machines, and i have to have 2 computers because the 2 lots of software wont run on the same computer.)
    So really, to start making small basic objects, the real 'need to have' skill is cad design, assuming that the design can simply be uploaded into the cnc software?
    Nail your colours to the mast that all may look upon them and know who you are.
    It takes a big man to cry...and an even bigger man to laugh at that man.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    17th February 2005 - 11:36
    Bike
    Bikes!
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    9,649
    The last bit I had done I just drew up in Google Sketchup and they handled the rest

  7. #7
    Join Date
    27th February 2005 - 08:47
    Bike
    a red heap
    Location
    towel wronger
    Posts
    6,522
    Quote Originally Posted by Brett View Post
    So really, to start making small basic objects, the real 'need to have' skill is cad design, assuming that the design can simply be uploaded into the cnc software?
    Quote Originally Posted by imdying View Post
    The last bit I had done I just drew up in Google Sketchup and they handled the rest
    you could use a crayon and a ruler on a piece of toilet paper if you wanted to, as long as it can be scanned its all good.

    any drawing programme can be used. we do lots of work for signwriters, and its seems everyone of those bastards uses a different format.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    1st November 2005 - 08:18
    Bike
    F-117.
    Location
    Banana Republic of NZ
    Posts
    7,048
    Google sketchup (as Imdying says) is probably the second best option as it's free to download & use.
    Best option is to provide beer to someone who knows what they're doing with CAM programming.


    I normally draw up the item in the machine's drawing package then convert it.

    Others primarily use Autocad and save it as a .dwg file, then we convert it from there. Normally a load of bugs to get rid of by using that process though.
    TOP QUOTE: “The problem with socialism is that sooner or later you run out of other people’s money.”

  9. #9
    Join Date
    12th March 2005 - 23:42
    Bike
    2017 Husqvarana FS701
    Location
    South East of Nowhere.
    Posts
    2,326
    Quote Originally Posted by nodrog View Post
    you could use a crayon and a ruler on a piece of toilet paper if you wanted to, as long as it can be scanned its all good.

    any drawing programme can be used. we do lots of work for signwriters, and its seems everyone of those bastards uses a different format.
    I get that for 2d units such as a bracket cut from a 15mm plate of stainless steel, where the tooling is only on 2 planes/ x & y axis' but when you have to move to the 3rd plane/axis such as if you were milling a gear box casing from a block of aluminium, the drawing would somehow need to express this?
    Nail your colours to the mast that all may look upon them and know who you are.
    It takes a big man to cry...and an even bigger man to laugh at that man.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    31st March 2005 - 02:18
    Bike
    CB919, 1090R, R1200GSA
    Location
    East Aucks
    Posts
    10,494
    Blog Entries
    140
    As nodrog has touched on, it depends on the business and it's size, whether or not it's the primary stuff, or a side effect of what they really need to do.

    Client has a couple of large Trumpf machines, and use CAD to make the initial parts and pieces, but the machines are driven by software on the desktop side. Drawings are processed and sent to the machines, which then do the work.
    Quote Originally Posted by Jane Omorogbe from UK MSN on the KTM990SM
    It's barking mad and if it doesn't turn you into a complete loon within half an hour of cocking a leg over the lofty 875mm seat height, I'll eat my Arai.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    12th March 2005 - 23:42
    Bike
    2017 Husqvarana FS701
    Location
    South East of Nowhere.
    Posts
    2,326
    Quote Originally Posted by Gremlin View Post
    As nodrog has touched on, it depends on the business and it's size, whether or not it's the primary stuff, or a side effect of what they really need to do.

    Client has a couple of large Trumpf machines, and use CAD to make the initial parts and pieces, but the machines are driven by software on the desktop side. Drawings are processed and sent to the machines, which then do the work.
    I suspect this is one of those things that you can only learn by doing. Might look around for someone offering a short-ish course in it.
    Nail your colours to the mast that all may look upon them and know who you are.
    It takes a big man to cry...and an even bigger man to laugh at that man.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    27th February 2005 - 08:47
    Bike
    a red heap
    Location
    towel wronger
    Posts
    6,522
    Quote Originally Posted by Brett View Post
    I get that for 2d units such as a bracket cut from a 15mm plate of stainless steel, where the tooling is only on 2 planes/ x & y axis' but when you have to move to the 3rd plane/axis such as if you were milling a gear box casing from a block of aluminium, the drawing would somehow need to express this?
    then you would want to use something like google sketch up, or any 3D able programme.

    for basic 3D shapes its easy enough to modify it from a 2D drawing, ie if your 15mm thick bracket had a step up from 7mm on a 45 degree angle with a 2.5mm radius edge

  13. #13
    Join Date
    17th February 2005 - 11:36
    Bike
    Bikes!
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    9,649
    Quote Originally Posted by Brett View Post
    I suspect this is one of those things that you can only learn by doing. Might look around for someone offering a short-ish course in it.
    Sketchup is digustingly easy to use. It doesn't do much fancy, and you'll not design an entire bike in it, but very very easy to use. Plus they have a warehouse of parts to download, typically google.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •