Thread: Hyosung GT250r tacho not working?

Bike
    2008 Hyosung GT250R

Hyosung GT250r tacho not working?

Hi guys,

I recently came home from a ride and as I turned into my street the tacho fluctuated a bit then stopped working. 'Easy fix' I thought. I ordered and swapped the whole instrument panel only to find that the tacho still wasn't working. I am now thinking it is a sensor problem. Now, I have a few issues here -

a) where is the senosr

b) is it easy to swap

c) Where can I find a replacement sensor

Noting that I am fairly novice at fixing motorbikes am I better off just going to a mechanic to sort it out?

Thanks for the help.

Bike
    2006 Hyosung GT650R
    From memory, the tacho runs directly off the CDI, not from its own sensor. Follow the wiring and wriggle the plugs gently.
    "I am a licenced motorcycle instructor, I agree with dangerousbastard, no point in repeating what he said."
    "read what Steve says. He's right."
    "What Steve said pretty much summed it up."
    "I did axactly as you said and it worked...!!"
    "Wow, Great advise there DB."
    WTB: Hyosung bikes or going or not.

Bike
    Its a Boat
    And if that dosen't work.....find a tree and hug it.

Bike
    2008 Hyosung GT250R
    Wriggling done and tree hugged. Neither worked. Must say, I didn't hold too much faith in the tree.

Shouldn't there still be a sensor somewhere? The CDI needs to get the rev data from somewhere

Bike
    bike sold :-(
    Shouldn't there still be a sensor somewhere? The CDI needs to get the rev data from somewhere[/QUOTE]