Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New to riding, new bike! (Lozza2442)

Bike
    2004 Suzuki GN125

New to riding, new bike! (Lozza2442)

Hey all!

First of all, I'm a chick rider, early 20's and my fiancee just got me into riding. Soooo. I've just gotten my learners and secured a bike off trade me. A suzuki GN125, something small with the aim of not killing myself. Haven't been on the road yet, haven't done any corners yet, so WISH ME LUCK!

I'm nervous, but the interwebz seem to have all sorts of tips.
    What are YOUR main tips? What do you wish you'd know when you first started riding?

Looking forward to talking to y'all more.

Loz

Bike
    A black one
    Welcome!

Only been riding a month or so myself but there's a few things I was told when I started riding that were good to know.

Mostly about riding in the wet, about how slippery white lines are. When it's dry I still practice staying off of the road markings.

Also be aware of the weight and physics of your bike. For example, when going downhill use your front brake mainly and try to stay off your back brake if possible. All the weight is transferring to the front anyway so if you pressure the back it'll lock up a lot easier than normal, and probably give you a good fright too.

I'm just a newbie though so I'm sure others can offer you more advice.

Bike
    Custom Ag100
    Hi there,

It would certainly pay to book into a riding school/clinic.

Have a search through this site or browse yellow pages.

Have fun.
    "Sorry Officer, umm.... my yellow power band got stuck wide open"

Bike
    2004 Suzuki GN125
    Quote Originally Posted by BigAl View Post
    Hi there,

It would certainly pay to book into a riding school/clinic.

Have a search through this site or browse yellow pages.

Have fun.