Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brembo front brake, no lever pressure

Bike
    KTM 350 SX-F

Brembo front brake, no lever pressure

I was moving my bike around on the weekend and noticed the front brake has completely lost pressure. I can pull the leaver all the way to the bar without any resistance. No obvious signs of fluid leak and a quick check of the reservoir shows it's still full of fluid, which is clear.

I have yet to try a quick bleed to see if air has got in the lines somehow, but if anyone else has any pointers I'd appreciate it.

Interestingly there was no issues on the last ride, all was working as it should.

Bike
    1998 CBR 900RR
    I am no expert but does it regain pressure if you pump the lever?
    If it does I would suggest air in the system.
    If it still has no pressure you have a major leak somewhere.

Thats about as much help as I can be sorry.

Bike
    KTM 350 SX-F
    Quote Originally Posted by Dogboy900 View Post
    I am no expert but does it regain pressure if you pump the lever?
    If it does I would suggest air in the system.
    If it still has no pressure you have a major leak somewhere.

Thats about as much help as I can be sorry.
    No, pumping the lever does nothing and there's no leak externally. I'm thinking an internal seal has gone, but usually that is shown up with dark or cloudy fluid in the reservoir.

Bike
    Bikes!
    Does it have braided lines?

Do you see fluid squirting back up into the reservoir during the lever stroke?

Bike
    RC36, RC31, KR-E, CR125
    Pistons moving at all?
    "A shark on whiskey is mighty risky, but a shark on beer is a beer engineer" - Tad Ghostal

Bike
    KTM 350 SX-F
    Braided hose, but haven't checked if there's any movement of fluid in the reservoir when pumping, will do tonight.

The caliper pistons don't move at all, that is the odd thing, there is absolutely no pressure in the system at all, yet it was all working perfectly last ride.

Bike
    RSV4RR, M109R, ZX10R