Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: I want to corner faster but how?

Bike
    2014 Triumph Street Triple

Unhappy I want to corner faster but how?

I have been riding for about 18 months, though my Street Triple is new this week (before that I had tried a big scooter, and then an Aprilia Shiver which I actually found a bit too big in frame size). I absolutely love my Street Triple - lighter and smaller and integrated with me.

Here's the thing: I've been told that I can easily take corners faster than I do. But I am scared to. I understand some of the cornering theory and I have good lines, I look through the corner, I stay relaxed.... But I'm pretty slow - as in slower than a car would be (e.g. if a corner has a recommended speed of 65, you might do 70 in a car, and I might do 60 on the bike).

So does anyone have any ideas as to HOW I could get faster cornering? I realise this means getting more lean angle but HOW do you determine what it should be without getting it horribly wrong? Exactly HOW do I go faster when, despite understanding the mechanics, I am scared I will mess up and crash?

I've tried following my husband on his bike and I believe I am a bit faster then - like he's "pulling me through" the corner. Are there other ways I could get better?

Thanks in advance for your ideas!

Bike
    a shiny new(ish) one
    rider training days at a trackday.
    if youre scared to ride faster than you do, and your mates are giving you shit for it - well its time to get some new friends

Bike
    Dougcati, Geoff and Suzi
    Ride more.

And you probably aren't as relaxed as you think

Ride a bit more. And then some more.
    Then get training.

Repeat these steps up to the day you die. Winning.
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul in NZ View Post
    Ha...Thats true but life is full horrible choices sometimes Merv. Then sometimes just plain stuff happens... and then some more stuff happens.....

Alloy, stainless and Ti polishing.
    Bling your bike out!