Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What's the situation on knee dragging?

Bike
    honda cbr1000rr

What's the situation on knee dragging?

Hello, I'm quite new to Nz. I am from England. Do you get the book thrown at you if you knee drag around corners?
    I have also read all the forums about lane splitting/filtering. Can someone give me a simple yes and no answer to tell me if it's legal or not. People writing different things. Thanks

Bike
    1988 M17 CBR250R Honda
    I think everyone would like a clear cut yes / no on splitting...

Bike
    1993 Yamaha FJ 1200
    Blog Entries
    Legal only within posted speed limit of the area you were seen ....
    When life throws you a curve ... Lean into it ...

Bike
    1993 Yamaha FJ 1200
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi-on-wheels View Post
    I think everyone would like a clear cut yes / no on splitting...
    In New Zealand it comes under the rules of overtaking.

Overtake outside those rules and you may be (if seen) issued with an infringement notice.
    When life throws you a curve ... Lean into it ...

Bike
    Obsolete ones.
    I escaped the UK a couple of decades ago but still lack legal qualifications. My seat of the pants experience here matches the UK. If you are seen to be a dick you will be done as a dick. I have filtered past cops in Auckland at a gentle jogging pace and never raised an eyebrow. Only ever had a knee down just prior to the rest of my anatomy so I guess it's not considered to be safe progress on a public road.
    The big thing here is speed, just like the UK I guess. Use your head, be safe & considerate and get your jollys when nobody is looking. Very easy to do.
    Manopausal.

Bike
    honda cbr1000rr
    Quote Originally Posted by george formby View Post