Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rear sprocket swap question

Bike
    2013 Lifan LF250

Rear sprocket swap question

Ive been riding for a few months, and living out of town means im taping out my lifan lf250 in 5th doing 90-100kph.

Standard 530 front sprocket is 16t and rear is 45t.

So my problem begins when the bike is modeled off of the yamaha virago/dragstar 250, which has an identical rear sprocket but unfortunately is a 520 chain size.

So i can either go for more teeth on the front (17t or 18t), in which case ive been told not too, because front sprockets have different splines and its much harder to machine one or find one to suit.

Ive been told the best, cheapest and most possible way is to decrease the teeth on the rear sprocket (42t or even 40t). Most people seem to do this on these bikes, but this is from info on foreign forums that get theirs machined.

So Im keen to get a rear sprocket machined, how do i go about this? same dimensions as jt sprockets jtr857, but 530 instead of 520 chain size, and 40t instead of 45t.

Im in Rotorua

Bike
    Dont have one now
    Get a bigger/better bike

Bike
    Valkyrie 1500 ,HD softail, BMW r1150r
    + 1

Or smaller and better

Or same size and better

Anything other then that one really. ..

Seriously though , don't waste time or effort on it.
    Save your money for other bike...
    Opinions are like arseholes: Everybody has got one, but that doesn't mean you got to air it in public all the time....

Bike
    invisibike
    Blog Entries
    yes a sprocket will increase you rpm to velocitation ratio. and they should be available through ebay and the such.

but your donk is a gutless piece of shit. and it wont thank you for it.

Bike
    2013 Lifan LF250
    I see what you guys mean, but im a poor student till I graduate at the end of the year, and if its around $100 - $150 to get a rear sprocket machined, then it will pay for itself in gas savings and may stop the motor from dying due to a life of high revs.