Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First bike.... Yay or Nay?? Advice needed!

Bike
    (Buying)

Cool First bike.... Yay or Nay?? Advice needed!

Hey guys Jayden here, i'm brand spanker to this forum so go gentle would ya! haha

But anyways onto the topic ... I'm looking at buying my first bike (250-400cc LAMS APPV)... I'm not a total noobie to bikes, as i have ridden dirt the odd time in the past before dad sold my xr200(rip)

To keep a story short, i've been eyeing up this 1989 CBR250R, with slight damage. (http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/List...?id=1189682640)

I'm mainly a Honda fan. but i like Kawazaki's, Yammies and i've found the Hyosungs to be rather appealing too...

Is there anything to be concerned about these bikes? What should i be looking for ? i'm averagely mechanically inclined etc..

I'm the typical young guy, the bikes gotta sound and look good! (fell in love with this sound...... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6KsFLuqpib4&t=12s)

I'll stop rambling now, any advice will be greatly appreicated !! Just trying to avoid buying a lemon as a first bike. Cheers Jayden.

Bike
    GSXR1000
    Loved the hot little 250's we had as kids in the 90's, damn they were fun. That's all I have to say, someone with first hand experience will be along soon enough. But if the bike stacks up, buy it and enjoy yourself.

Bike
    (Buying)
    Quote Originally Posted by onearmedbandit View Post
    Loved the hot little 250's we had as kids in the 90's, damn they were fun. That's all I have to say, someone with first hand experience will be along soon enough. But if the bike stacks up, buy it and enjoy yourself.
    Seems cheap enough! Would you expect to pay that amount for an older bike with decent km's on it?? Or do you reckon its a lemon?

Bike
    RSV4RR, M109R, ZX10R
    Blog Entries
    http://www.trademe.co.nz/motors/moto...1188470665.htm
    Good option offer 2k and spend 500 on transporting it to you.

Looks like a good older 4cylinder option also