Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Your advice please

Bike
    Nothing yet

Your advice please

Hey guys n gals
    I'm new to buying/owning bikes so am after some advice please......I know my way around cars no problems but very green when it comes to bikes. I'm looking at a V-Strom on trade me, listing number 1216088606

https://preview.trademe.co.nz/motors...kes/1216088606

Has anyone had experience with this model? Is 55k high milage for this type of bike? What sort of servicing or repair costs should I expect in the near future.
    This will be my first bike purchase. I am wanting something to commute from Hamilton to Tauranga at least 3 times a week for most of next year, so will be going over the Kaimai's a fair bit. I've been looking at and keen on either a V-Strom 650 or 1000, Versey 650 or 1000, or a vfr800x Cross Runner.
    I'm 6'3, 90 odd kilos so taller bikes aren't an issue for me. If you have any recommendations or advice that would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers in advance.

Bike
    GSXR1000
    Soooo....what experience do you have with motorcycles?

Bike
    A
    And apart from lack of experience, what is the licence situation?

Bike
    z800
    Quote Originally Posted by caspernz View Post
    And apart from lack of experience, what is the licence situation?
    Quote Originally Posted by onearmedbandit View Post
    Soooo....what experience do you have with motorcycles?
    whose mummy and whose daddy???

Bike
    GSXR1000
    Quote Originally Posted by Ifsn8u View Post
    whose mummy and whose daddy???
    Very witty. However I'm not so keen on recommending a bike to someone who it appears doesn't have much experience on bikes, or at least has made it look that way.

Bike
    Nothing yet
    Haha my apologies. I have a full licence. I'm early forties paying for my own bike. No mummy or daddys not paying for it 😂😂😂😂😂😂.