Thread: Hi all

Bike
    none right now

Hi all

Hi everyone

I've lurked on the forums here on and off for a couple years, following people's builds and banter. Finally decided to go for my licence and get on a bike legit. I have some experience riding a friend's 400 down country roads, and used to play with mudders back in the day as a farm kid, but have increasingly felt the urge to lose a couple wheels and sink myself into the world of road bikes.

I am currently looking at FXR 150's. Reasons being: very light. cheap. looks wise is okay. seems to have a decent rep around the forums here. and 20hp seems like a decent amount to get started with. i am planning to hold onto this bike for a minimum of 1 year no matter how boring it gets as i have a bit of a twitchy wrist and want to nail my riding skills before i add a few cylinders..

I think i know roughly what to look for ; oil leaks, tyres, play in throttle/brakes, rust. Are there any other warning signs a non-mechanic can pick up easily? I am fairly mechanically minded but have no practical experience.

one I am looking at now is around the 50xxx km mark. is this getting on for a 99 fxr150? do kms really matter if i plan to give it plenty of TLC?

Another question: I plan to use it as a commuter to start with. Do I really need to worry about expensive safety gear if i am driving less than 20-30kms from home on max 80kmh roads? cash is tight and i'd like to make sure i get a decent bike first . I have some wet weather gears already. Obviously a decent helmet is a must.

Other than that I look forward to some banter and getting a feel for the NZ bike community . Would love to try road racing events down the line ..

Cheers

Bike
    less than I used to have
    Welcome. Here's the FXR for you. Keep the ute for taking it out to the track.

http://www.trademe.co.nz/motors/moto...1314953745.htm

Bike
    none right now
    Quote Originally Posted by ellipsis View Post