Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Modern 250s vs 80/90's 250s

Bike
    Honda XR250 1988

Modern 250s vs 80/90's 250s

There are some similar threads already on this topic, but nothing at answers my question, so I've started this one.
    I'm looking at buying a new 250 sport bike at the moment, but have only previously ridden trail/duel purpose bikes before so I'm new to sport bikes.

So anyway I've read quite a bit about the older 4 cylinder bikes 250s like the cbr250rr and gsxr250 and they sound like a lot of fun and have a bit of character to them.
    Also they are getting quite old now, 20-30 years old and parts can be rare to source.

Then there are the newer 250s like the 1 cylinder cbr250 and ninja 250, which I've read are gutless things compared to the older bikes mentioned above and people seem to get tired of them quickly.
    However they are obviously newer, more parts on hand and easier to find in good condition.

It would be good if i get some opinions on what a better buy would be. I'm already leaning towards an older bike, but would I be foolish to buy a more fun bike that could have/develop issues over
    a newer less exciting bike?

Bike
    1993 Yamaha FJ 1200
    Blog Entries
    With the introduction of the LAM's class motorcycles (251-660 cc) ... the importance of a range of styles and performance capability in 250cc motorcycles has largely been removed.

LAM's also removed the need for a clapped out (old) high mile and age 250 ... (because of license restrictions of the time) ... with larger (and now) new bikes well suited and capable for less experienced riders. Some older ones in this class can be still found with reasonable km's ... and condition. Often cheaply too.

With a rider having some good/basic on-road experience already ... restricting yourself to a 250 would be silly ... as you would tire of it (very) quickly.

The limitation is only what your budget can stand.
    When life throws you a curve ... Lean into it ...

Bike