Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Yamaha XJR 1300 Sport

Bike
    NONE CURRENTLY

Yamaha XJR 1300 Sport

Hi all ! Iv'e just joined this forum. I have been riding bikes for a few years.Started with a Yamaha YB 100,then bought a Honda CB 350 . SOME years and a family later got a CX 500 . Now i am looking at a Yamaha XJR 1300 Sport . A bit of a leap yes and i prefer the retro look. Does anyone own one and what are they like ? Most forums and reviews seem pretty positive, but yet to speak with someone who owns one. Any feedback welcome.

Bike
    Roadstar 1600 & Royal Star Venture
    Quote Originally Posted by bagpiper View Post
    Hi all ! Iv'e just joined this forum. I have been riding bikes for a few years.Started with a Yamaha YB 100,then bought a Honda CB 350 . SOME years and a family later got a CX 500 . Now i am looking at a Yamaha XJR 1300 Sport . A bit of a leap yes and i prefer the retro look. Does anyone own one and what are they like ? Most forums and reviews seem pretty positive, but yet to speak with someone who owns one. Any feedback welcome.
    Not an XJR but owned and did a lot of miles on it's 'original' the FJ1200. The motor is a peach. It's torquey, silky smooth, all but bullet proof and will give huge mileage if looked after.
    Issues on that motor is 2nd gear if it's been thrashed a lot, it can/may jump out when accelerating hard. Otherwise? It's a good solid dependable unit.

I currently own a CB1300, which is the Honda equivalent {retro/muscle bike} don't expect sports bike performance or handling from any of this type {retro} they are hefty beasts. Although believe me they are substantially better than the bikes of yore they represent. You'll need to learn to 'touring corner' rather than sportbike cornering. They are all 'lazy' power, over 40-50kph just leave in top gear and twist the throttle.

comfortable, long distance bikes with oodles of usable and sensible power, it's right where you want it... overtaking cars at road speeds.