Thread: New member looking for first bike recommendation, have done a fair amount of research

Bike
    NA

New member looking for first bike recommendation, have done a fair amount of research

Hey guys.

Long time lurker, first time poster. I am new to biking and looking for a recommendation for my first bike, I am currently on my restricted license.

I am looking for a Sportyish/Street fighter style bike, specifically I like the look/style of the Yamaha MT-03 or Honda CBR250R.

Here is what I am looking for out of a bike:
    -Low maintenance/reliable (I understand bikes need more maintenance than cars which is fine, but I think it is fair to say I am not very mechanically minded so even small issues would be going to the garage).
    -250-300CC
    -Prefer power in the low end rather than faster top speeds
    -Decent resale value after 2 years
    -Comfortable for 6'0 rider
    -Budget $4000 (stretch to $5000 for the perfect bike)

I would prefer a second hand bike simply because if I drop/scratch it I am not going to be to worried, especially if it already has a couple of scratches. On the other hand you can get some new bikes around my budget that come with a 3 year warranty which would give me great peace of mind the bike isn't going to be constantly in the garage.

At the moment my top choice is a Suzuki GW250 simply because that is the most affordable bike that meets most of what I am after but really keen to hear any other suggestions.

Thanks

Bike
    invisibike
    Blog Entries
    hayabusa .

Bike
    Its a Boat
    Quote Originally Posted by Akzle View Post
    hayabusa .
    Have you giving Kip McGrath any thought? it might help you understand what you are reading and replying to.

Now to the question at hand, an easy $5K purchase: http://www.trademe.co.nz/motors/moto...1393481083.htm

Bike
    S1000RR
    Quote Originally Posted by NZZeroFan View Post
    Hey guys.