Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: German Backpacker on a Motorcycle

Bike
    CBF1000L

German Backpacker on a Motorcycle

Hi guys,

I arrive in Auckland in 21 Days for visiting a Friend of mine and having a Backpacking Adventure for approx. 8 months.

At first i thought of buying one of those typical Campervans... but lets be serious thats IMO the easy way... nah i want the real thing: in a tent - on a bike.

I really enjoy my new Africa Twin here in Germany and i guess it would be the perfect Bike on the NZ Roads (I the DCT-Gearbox) But shipping costs are insane.

I can get something like a DR, KLR, CRF or even a Farm Bike with some Racks for the shipping costs of my AT.

Anyways my plan is: Stay at my friends house for the first days, get a IRD Number, Bank Account and of course a Bike. And then head out and explore and even work from time to time... I'm a plumber here in Germany with 8 years work expierience.

Any thoughts on a company named redbaron? They have some interesting bikes and they even offer a buy back option.

I'm already super excited and I think this will be a once i a lifetime Journey.

PS: Here's a picture of my AT from a 2 Day Trip here in Germany
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0203.JPG 
Views:	84 
Size:	357.3 KB 
ID:	332514  

Bike
    Valkyrie 1500 ,HD softail, BMW r1150r
    Red baron is a big bike shop in Auckland.
    Some people will have good things to say about them....some will say less nice things.
    It will be an easy and safe way to buy a bike and have them buy it back....
    Trade me is a good place to look at bikes.
    How much are you willing to spend if I may ask?
    Opinions are like arseholes: Everybody has got one, but that doesn't mean you got to air it in public all the time....

Bike
    1972 Norton Commando
    What he said.

I take you have got a Work Visa sorted? https://www.immigration.govt.nz/new-...s/options/work