Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Counter-steering, an unhelpful term

Bike
    2014 Honda NC750 SD 2007 Buell XB12Ss

Counter-steering, an unhelpful term

By now almost everyone riding a bike must know about so called COUNTER-STEERING unless they're an absolute novice. Most others will also know how it works and why. A few might even know how it got the name. Many more, but not everyone, will know that we all do it all the time whether we realise it or not or our bikes wouldn't start to turn, even the ones which require you only to think, turn, to start the turn and it'll do it.

I prefer to call the phenomenon PUSH-STEERING, because it's what we really are doing. I want to turn to the left so I push forward on the left 'bar. For right it's the opposite. Even after riding for so long I still do it consciously whenever I want to initiate a rapid change of direction and just before coming to a complete stop so that the bike will cant slightly towards the foot I intend to put on the ground.

Give it a try. You might be surprised at how effective it is.

Bike
    none yet
    I found this to be a good demonstration of the phenomenon. There's plenty of videos out there about counter-steering but none show you the consequences of not understanding it.

TRIGGER WARNING - I'm serious, if seeing crashes sets off your anxiety then please don't watch. You have been warned. In saying that, I think the guy survives.

https://youtu.be/VVE79XT8-Mg
    Made you look

Bike
    2015, Ducati Streetfighter
    Blog Entries
    Synthetic or mineral oil?

Road or race tyre pressures?

Accelerate or brake for that bus?

Vagina or Vage?

Counter or push/pull?

These ARE the dividing questions on a motorcycle forum.

Bike
    A
    To train or not to train.

Big naturals or silicone enhanced.

Red Bull or V.

Fair enough for the OP to mention a basic skill, most should know of it by now, some of us even use the counter steering technique in our rider coaching

Bike