Thread: Bent Handlebars - Options?

Bike
    '18 Duke 390

Bent Handlebars - Options?

Hi all,

Newbie here. Picked up a GN250 with my mate and we've been practicing for a little bit before sitting our Basic Handling.

My mate took a tumble riding at about 50km and the bike came off second best. The bike is a little scratched and unfortunately the handlebars have been bent too. What's the recommended thing to do here? Get a new set or is it fairly straight forward to bend them back into place? They're not severely bent, just means it doesn't ride quite straight.

Any advice/help appreciated.

Cheers

Bike
    Dont have one now
    Quote Originally Posted by alex View Post
    Hi all,

Newbie here. Picked up a GN250 with my mate and we've been practicing for a little bit before sitting our Basic Handling.

My mate took a tumble riding at about 50km and the bike came off second best. The bike is a little scratched and unfortunately the handlebars have been bent too. What's the recommended thing to do here? Get a new set or is it fairly straight forward to bend them back into place? They're not severely bent, just means it doesn't ride quite straight.

Any advice/help appreciated.

Cheers
    Going in the right direction helps quite a bit. Get someone who knows what they are doing to replace them and check the bike over

Bike
    2000 Ducati ST2
    Quote Originally Posted by skippa1 View Post
    Going in the right direction helps quite a bit. Get someone who knows what they are doing to replace them and check the bike over
    +1, it sounds like you should check that the forks haven't twisted in the triple trees as well. Not the end of the world but it really should be checked.

Bending the handlebars back isn't a good idea. Every bend will weaken the metal and finally it'll snap. GN250 handlebars should be as cheap as chips anyway.

Bike
    Valkyrie 1500 ,HD softail, BMW r1150r
    New ones ....as suggested.