Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: LED bulbs now banned

Bike
    2009 ST1300

LED bulbs now banned

I've been putting LED headlight bulbs in my 1990's bikes for a few years, and really value the extra light output at night and the increase in daylight conspicuity. I was in at my local VTNZ getting a WOF in the weekend, and I was advised by the bike expert there (actually a genuinely nice, helpful guy) that as of 1 June this year, LED bulbs are now banned in all vehicles that were designed to use halogen bulbs. Apparently the extra brightness is a problem in reflectors/lenses that are not designed for LED. He also agreed that this was actually a benefit for invisible bikes, but then he also thinks louder (but not stupid loud) pipes are a safety feature.

He was kind enough to pass my bike with a warning for next time, but this now means that I will have to switch out my LEDs before WOF time. Don't tell anyone, but I will be putting them back in afterwards.

Bike
    Honda Foreman, now
    Your secret's safe with us.

And that nice Mister Google.

Thanks for the head-sup though.

Bike
    1972 Norton Commando
    I swapped out the H4 on my 80's BMW and found although it was bright the pattern was all over the place.
    WOF guy last time said next time it would be a no from him.

My understanding is that they were not approved for retro fit as the reflectors are different.
    You can however run additional daytime ones which are good for extra visibility.
    DeMyer's Laws - an argument that consists primarily of rambling quotes isn't worth bothering with.

Bike
    1976 Honda GL1000, plus implements
    Errr, are you muddling LED with HID?
    HID headlight bulbs already aren't allowed unless factory fitted, but LED too now? Fucksake, it's a headlight arms race out there, bikes need every advantage!
    High miles, engine knock, rusty chrome, worn pegs...
    Brakes as new

Bike
    2015, Ducati Streetfighter
    Blog Entries