Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice wanted: $5K to spend on bike & Gear

Bike
    Still Looking

Advice wanted: $5K to spend on bike & Gear

So my Credit has finally recovered enough and today I got approved for a $5000 loan for a bike & all the gear, so now I'm looking for a bunch of advice.

First question is, how much practice time would you recommend to pass the BHST?
    I've not ridden a bike as anything but a pillion before. I've been driving cars for over 15 years now & currently have a manual so listening to an engine and road rules are not a problem. I do have experience with 4-wheelers about a 10-15 years ago, so I'm familiar with the gear change but probably need some practice, but I pick up physical skills pretty fast and don't seem to forget them ever (didn't drive a manual for 10 years, but was like I never stopped first time I got back in one).

Second question, suggestions for bikes that would be good or bikes I should avoid? Also what size engine should I go for?
    I'm female, 170cm tall and weight around 95-100Kg in street clothes. I've also got a messed up back that means I have to have a forward leaning riding position with my heels under or slightly behind my hip, even just sitting on a bike without that for a few minutes I can feel my back starting to ache & cramp up, I also won't be able to ride with more than a really light backpack, like wallet, phone, e-cig, light jersey and maybe a drink bottle is the max I could do. I'm in Kaiapoi and studying in town, 40-50Km round trip each time, I can do up to 300Km a week when I'm busy. I want something for commuting, day trips around Canterbury with my step-Dad and trips to my Grandma's in Golden Bay every few months with a reasonable amount of gear.