Thread: Ear Plug?

Bike
    Cagiva Xtra Raptor

Question Ear Plug?

Hi guys, got a bit of a special request for ear plugs.

I ride a bike for work that has loud sirens and I have a comms kit in the helmet. I also often stop and speak to drivers.

I've found that the sirens are very loud and drown out the comms so I have to turn the comms way up to a near deafening level (for short periods of time when I've got the sirens on). I never really noticed before but yesterday at the start of shift I used the sirens while getting updates over the comms and didn't again for the rest of the shift but my ears were still uncomfortable at the end of shift. I'm afraid of doing permanent damage to my hearing if I keep doing this, keeping in mind I've been doing it since March 2019 and have not noticed any hearing loss.

Does anyone know of earplugs that will filter out the siren but allow me to hear the in-helmet speakers? And also allow enough sound through so I can talk to people without removing my helmet? I've had a pair of moulded ear plugs for years that I use when riding my own bikes but I don't think I would be able to hear anything clearly with them in.

I'm thinking there probably isn't a suitable product out there but if anyone knows of something please let me know.

Thanks in advance!
    Motorcycling is like life - it's about the journey, not the destination.

Bike
    A
    Simple ear plugs, as in the disposable kind, will help cut background noise and still allow you to hear comms.
    Or just ask Matt F what he recommends.

Bike
    XB12S
    Dont use the siren or change jobs Simple

Bike
    Sold
    I use custom moulded plugs from Plugz 4 Lugz in Rotorua. I get better clarity from my comms with them in than not having them as they filter high frequency wind noise. Not sure how they'd work for sirens.

Bike
    1998 Yamaha R1
    You should report this to your employer, as they are legally responsible for your health and safety in the workplace.