Thread: Front Suspension Tuning?

Bike
    2018 BMW G310R

Front Suspension Tuning?

Had my BMW G310R for a couple of months now and absolutely love it but for one thing - the 'stock' front suspension set up! Not sure if being assembled in India means they're set up for riders who are 75kg wet through - which I am definitely not - but the front end on my bike feels way too light. I know the stock oil is 7.5W but no idea what the spring rate is. During 'normal' riding, everything is sweet but as soon as I give it some beans, I get quite a bit of uplift under hard acceleration and a bit of diving when hitting the anchors hard!

I'm not a suspension expert by any stretch of the imagination and although I would be willing to have a crack, I'd rather leave it to someone with a decent level of expertise - particularly given the impact getting it wrong could have on the bike's handling. On that note, a mate has suggested Phil Parish who, fortunately, resides in my neck of the woods here in Chch. Anyone used his services & are happy to recommend him or not as the case may be. Any other suspension gurus out there?
    Only ever regret the things you didn't do!

Bike
    Blandit 1200, DRZ250 K, Beta xtrainer
    Phil is a very good mechanic and would certainly be able to help sort your spring rates. I know nothing of that BMW[or any BMW] but I assume the front has no adjustment for compression or rebound except playing with fork oil viscosity. You talk of it "springing back" and diving too quickly which is certainly a function of a lack of rebound/compression damping.

Bike
    RZ496/Street 765RS/GasGas/ etc etc
    Blog Entries
    I only know Linton down that way, at DAS . I imagine anything that you do will yield benefits on budget suspension. Springs to suit but just going up on fluid viscosity is double edged sword.

That said in the old days the qty of oil youd find from factory in a kawasaki for instance would only be of use to stop the insides rusting.