Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help I need somebody... 😫 Newby Questions where to start?

Bike
    Suzuki Volty 1996

Help I need somebody... 😫 Newby Questions where to start?

Hi guys,

I finally bought my first bike after procrastinating and looking for what felt like decades (months really) a 96 Suzuki Volty TU250
    I'd been going and looking at bikes for awhile and didn't really consider the bike I ended up buying but once I rode it I decided to bite the bullet.

The volty didn't come with any service history and hadn't been registered for a few years so I thought I should see to getting the oil and filter replaced and would like to do this myself but haven't done anything like this before.
    I then noticed that the oil screw cap is broken off where you turn it and I can't seem to undo it.
    I'm new to all this and first bike and all was wondering if there is a sorry for the term but backyard mechanic that could help me out and could even show me how to do the oil and filter and take a look at the overall bike to see what if anything need attention, I can pay or shout beer or likewise.
    I've also noticed the front forks are leaking fluid.

I'm a father of a 4 year old boy so between that and working full-time I don't really get the time to look on YouTube or Google for ways to learn the mechanical side of things.
    I really want to look after and maintain this bike as it's my transport to work but I have to admit I don't know too much about the workings of of motorcycle but really keen to learn.

If anyone can provide guidance or advice it would be really appreciated.

Also wanting to know if I should start the bike up everyday to avoid the battery going flat? As it's an old bike I'm concerned the battery might be old too and to be honest I don't even know where to locate the battery on the bike...

Thanks in advance . New bike owner. Dave.

Bike
    a 400 and a 650 :-)
    This might be of use: https://www.manualslib.com/manual/18...ki-Tu250x.html