Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie help for 250 !

Bike
    2010 CB600, 2007 ZX14

Newbie help for 250 !

Hey, well I'm in the market for a learners sport/tour bike.. however I'm a) a newbie and b) not having much luck.

I'm pretty fussy, and It's boiled down to the ZZR or ZXR250, or maybe a CBR250 .. this is purely cosmetic, all I know of bikes is the difference between two stroke and four stroke (I'm really a newbie, go easy!).

I'm 6'1 90kg (more lean than fat, if that helps any).. my old man has a ZZR1100 and has given me the run down on what he can but he's admitted that after buying his 1100 he didn't care for other bikes much and kinda lost touch of the mechanical world :P But he advised me to sit on a 250 for a LONG time before making a decision because of my height.

Now I'm dead keen to get a bike and if a 250 is the only way to start then so be it, BUT. I've heard you can get exceptions from the 250 rule with a dr. cert saying your height will be unsafe for 250 and can go up to 400's ?

That's what I've heard anyway, I'm not too interested in speed(though I know i'll get the bug sooner or later), I just want a bike that I like and is comfortable to ride.

Anyway a biker friend pointed me towards this website and I thought I'd try my luck with my questions here.

Thanks in advance! :P

Bike
    1998 suzuki RG150e (AETC)... X2
    All I know of those bikes is the following:

ZXR is slightly bigger than CBR

ZXR and CBR are the fastest of the 4-stroke 250's (and are overpriced as a result)

ZZR is less fast, and I'm not sure about its size.
    I suffer from hooliganism.... Know me before you judge me
    http://www.kiwibiker.co.nz/forums/sh...7&postcount=83
    i need to practice my "this shit doesn't burn" face
    Welcome, ZorsT.
    You last visited: 1st November 2007 at 22:15

Bike
    1996 ZZR 1100 D4,
    Hey Zeocen,