Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trouble starting - FXR

Bike
    CBR, RGV Racer, Bucket

Trouble starting - FXR

Hey guys. I'm having trouble starting my FXR, especially in the cold mornings.

Ok, so what happens is: it will start first time, every time as long as I have the choke on full. As soon as I touch the choke, it dies. Once it's died the first time dont think about getting it started again. It took me about 10 mins this morning to get it going again. Once its going I have to leave the choke on full for at least 3 or 4 mins before it will let me drop it even slightly.

So i'm sitting out there at 7.30 in the morning with my bike revving at about 4000rpm, waking up all the neighbours.

Anyone got any suggestions?

Bike
    02 Piaggio X9 250
    I am not an expert but keep the choke on full and just put the bike into gear and ride off slowly and very very slowly open the throttle, and after a few blocks you should be able to turn down the choke.

If you keep the bike in a warmer place (garage) it should be easier to start.

Bike
    Goose
    [QUOTE=phoenixgtr]

So i'm sitting out there at 7.30 in the morning with my bike revving at about 4000rpm, waking up all the neighbours.

[QUOTE=phoenixgtr]

HAHA! Try 6.30am with my bike. I have a really steep driveway so it HAS to be warmed up completely before I even attempt to go! And I start my bike up in the craport right next to the neighbours bedroom...
    As for your problem id go with what Warren said... used to work a treat with the GN. Or just leave the choke on and maybe go have a word to your neighbours...
    "Some people are like clouds, once they fuck off, it's a great day!"

Bike
    CBR, RGV Racer, Bucket
    Cheers, but if I had a garage I would keep it in there. The colds not causing the problem, it's just making it worse. I still have to use the choke to get it going on a hot summers day

Bike
    Royal Enfield 650 & a V8 or two..
    Quote Originally Posted by phoenixgtr