Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Setting up for adventure riding

Bike
    2006 F650GS

Setting up for adventure riding

Hi again

Now as you all know I am a novice when it comes to this, so again I ask for wisdom and advice!
    I have made a list of things I need (or want) in some sort order, am I on the right track?

Please feel free to add or move things in your replies (it is for 2 bikes & riders), and imagine it is for 20 days on the road, stopping in town to refuel restock food etc.
    If you see something that should be moved, or deleted or added please let me know in this thread by replying.

So here is my list

Bikes
    1. Bikes
    2. Spare Bike Key
    3. Bike locks (and spare lock keys)

Riding Equipment
    1. Helmets
    2. Riding Jackets (adventure)
    3. Riding Pants (adventure)
    4. Boots
    5. Gloves
    6. Kidney Belt
    7. Cycle Pants

Luggage
    1. Panniers (soft)
    2. Luggage Rack
    3. Bag to fit luggage rack
    4. Waterproof stuff sack for tent etc
    5. Either a bumbag or small tankbag for small stuff.
    6. Waterproof liners for Panniers
    7. Tie downs for attaching things to (rubber bands made from old tubes)

Other equipment
    1. Tent
    2. Sleeping Bags
    3. Ground roll
    4. Sheepskin for the seat and bed underlay
    5. Cooking and eating equipment
    6. Head torch
    7. Personal Clothing
    8. First aid kit

Toolkit and spares
    1. Tools (spanners 8-17mm, spark plug wrench, Allen keys, hacksaw blade, vice grips, adjustable spanner, long nose pliers etc)
    2. Tyre repair kit and levers
    3. Duct and electrical tape
    4. Cables (brake, clutch and throttle)
    5. Spare clutch and Brake lever
    6. A selection of nuts and bolts
    7. Spare tubes
    8. Mild Steel Wire
    9. Chain lube and chain links
    10. Fire Extingusher

Navigation & Communication
    1. Intercom (rider to rider)
    2. Spare rechargeable batteries (and charger for these items)
    3. GPS
    4. GPS mount