Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My first set up - advice wanted

Bike
    1990 ZXR250

My first set up - advice wanted

I'm a student and a first time rider with roughly $600-$800 to spend on gear and was wondering if itd best to spend that on a full set up or rather look at slightly better quality stuff and get jacket/helmet/gloves for now and then look at pants/boots in a coupla months time.

Is there a 'safe' amount to spend on a helmet or is it just a matter of finding one that fits well? I've been looking around and I can't seem to find a good fit, medium sizes put a bit of pressure on my cheeks and there's a tiny bit of movement with large sizes

Jacket, Im leaning towards cordura for practicality and weatherproof reasons. Will invest in leathers at a later stage.

Gloves, anything with a hardened knuckle protector seems to be ok?

Im looking for any advice/recommendations people have. I've checked out the bike shops on Manchester street and Leather Direct, is there anywhere I'm missing in chch? I don't suppose there's anywhere that stocks Quasimoto stuff?

I'd be very keen to hear from Quasi too - do you have any end of line stuff at the moment? I sent you an email but I haven't heard back.

Bike
    2005 Honda CBR600RR
    My first gear consisted of;

Helmet HJC CL-14 ~$150
    Jacket Spool Cordura ~$150
    Pants Mobig Cordura ~$150
    Boots Gaerne ~$200
    Gloves Quasi ~$50

All up, fully protected for around $700. Personally, I think boots and pants are pretty important.

The stuff is not built to last an eternity but it certainly was fine for getting started. I have subsequently bought some summer gloves, a leather jacket and a new helmet.
    Sleep is for the weak.

Bike
    Now bikeless :-(
    Quote Originally Posted by Santa View Post