Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Places to practice list

Bike
    2006 Hyosung GT250R

Places to practice list

i started riding not long ago and first got on two wheels at an empty parking lot, like i am sure a lot of others did too. there have been a few posts lately from new riders not knowing where to go to and get started/practice away from traffic, and as a result having to get started on busy roads which i would imagine being rather scary. just thinking it would be a good idea to put up a list of some of the places where it is safe to practice. everyone else feel free to contribute.

Business Park Carpark, Sultan St off Gt South Road. Enter at traffic lights opposite AA Penrose 36°54'4.19"S 174°48'31.83"E
    Business park, mostly deserted during the weekend. a few company cars parked about but generally you can find some large clear areas. theres even a multistorey carpark structure, but its got barrier arms (possible to get around if you are on a bike ), and a small round about to practice on

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Back Carpark, 3kings Shopping Centre. Enter from Mt Eden Road
    I think these ones serve the council offices in 3kings, so are mostly deserted in weekends. However since they are near the shopping centre there is a fair bit of through traffic at times. The small drive to the left/west goes to a daycare centre and a locked gate with some council utilities beyond so its quite safe, but do watch for traffic from the shopping mall turning into the road from the other parking lots.

Hugo Johnstone Drive, Penrose
    Dead end street in an industrial area. mostly deserted during the weekend, especially the part at the very end that goes nowhere except some sort of power plant. some small workshops in the area working on weekends so occasional traffic. couple of also dead end sidestreets as well.

nb work in progress, will edit in more details as i go along.

Bike
    S1000RR