Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Racetech gold valve install - self-install?

Bike
    2006 Hyosung GT650R

Racetech gold valve install - self-install?

"Racetech kits are designed to be installed by home/hobbiest mechanics - comes with instruction DVD etc etc"

Anyone installed these themselves ? Did your forks ? Shock ? How hard is it to do ?

The racetech bits themselves aren't pricey, but by the time I have someone do the front and rear its touching 2k.

DB
    "I am a licenced motorcycle instructor, I agree with dangerousbastard, no point in repeating what he said."
    "read what Steve says. He's right."
    "What Steve said pretty much summed it up."
    "I did axactly as you said and it worked...!!"
    "Wow, Great advise there DB."
    WTB: Hyosung bikes or going or not.

suspension is a very very dark art. one small mistake can be huge problems.
    get someone who does it, even if its your local bike shop will know someone local he might be able thelp

Bike
    2006 Hyosung GT650R
    Well, here I am told two conflicting things - there is a huge discrepancy between it "being a very very dark art", and "designed for the home mechanic". One of these things does not fit.

Can we hear from a "home mechanic" who has done it ?

DB
    "I am a licenced motorcycle instructor, I agree with dangerousbastard, no point in repeating what he said."

install parts and doing the manual work isn't that hard, its the stuff like setting them up, and tweaks that only people who deal with all the time know/learn.

And one small mistake can cause big issues. in handling, know this from past experence

Bike
    2006 Hyosung GT650R
    Quote Originally Posted by Cajun View Post
    And one small mistake can cause big issues. in handling, know this from past experence
    Like what sort of mistake ? What problems did you see ? Share your experience.

Steve

Bike
    -
    10... 9... 8...