Thread: Gn250 bobber / Newbie introduction

Bike
    gn250 83

Gn250 bobber / Newbie introduction

Hi all,

Names Quinton I am a student doing Engineering at Canterbury and came across this site when doing some looking into doing a bobber project.

Don't be hating the Gn250 bobber idea till I explain myself :P

I got given (for a box of beer) an 83 Gn250 the other day. It is a perfect runner.. Just needs a new battery and a slow tire leak fixed. (Should have new bits Tuesday)

I plan on stripping it down, painting it, single seat, chop bits here.. strut the rear end etc just for some practical experience working on a bike. I am only 20 and want to get a bit more hands on.

I plan on doing another (bigger bike) in time but for a basically free bike I thought I would have some fun over the summer ++ at the end of the day I should get what I spend on it back if/when I come to sell (although thats not what its about!)

There are some cool examples of what a Gn250 can become on youtube which gives me a little bit of hope that what I am doing isn't a complete waste of time. Search gn250 bobber.

Not much to see yet, will upload some photos of it before I start ripping it to pieces later on next week.

Bike
    Two wheeler
    All the best with that, good on you for doing something a bit different. And just remember, as long as it's safe, and you like it, it doesn't matter whether anyone else loves it or loathes it.

Bike
    1993 Yamaha FJ 1200
    Blog Entries
    Way to go guy ... the GN in its original form is ... has been much maligned ...

Do it how you want ... but keep it legal and safe. Ignore any knockers ... you will learn the spanner skills (among other skills) for the next project ...

Top tip ... do it right the first time ... no second best's ...
    When life throws you a curve ... Lean into it ...

Bike
    Quote Originally Posted by Quinton Penniall View Post