Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Competely noob towards all things bike

Bike
    NOS induced ninja ex250
    Blog Entries

Competely noob towards all things bike

Hey there, I dont really know where to start! probably a good thing i've made my way onto a bike site.

Anyway I am currently interested in getting myself a bike as I have to travel from Howick(auckland) over to the northshore 4 days a week for uni. Hoping maybe I could dial down on fuel and parking costs by aquiring a bike of my own. Also to incorperate the absolutely nuts traffic between the two places on the motorway!.

As the title says, I am a complete noob! I can ride, and have been riding dirt bikes on farms for years, but i know nothing of bike brands and clothing needed....

So i guess i have a few questions for the knowledgable

1. And most important question. Is it worth having a car aswell as a bike? Have people been able to do everyday stuff just with a bike or has carrying things become quite a nuisance?. Does anyone wish that they had a car aswell or is just having a bike actually not so bad? I will probably have access to a second family car, and selling my car would give me more spending money obviously. I would sell my car in an instant if I knew it was simple to do normal stuff just with a backpack and bike.

2. Are bikes actually cheaper to maintain and run?

3. What kinds of things am I looking for in purchasing riding gear and also a bike. My budget is rather low 3-3.5 for a bike plus a decent amount for some quality riding gear.

4. Do you guys find it a hassle to have to get dressed into riding equipment before you shoot out anywhere, and vice versa do you find it annoying lugging around your gear all day if you cant put it anywhere?

Sorry I bet these questions have been asked before, but I cant really find my way around the forum as of yet.

Looking forward to your feedback

Cheers

Bike
    450EXC, V-Strom

Thumbs up

All answers are IMHO